Let’s Start Talking About Food

As I stated last week, one of my main blogging focuses is going to be about getting (and staying) fit, eating right and taking care of ME 100% of the time. So, I am thinking, it’s time to start talking about food!

I have to say, even though I have never truly been fit and have been overweight pretty much my entire life, I have never had a horrible relationship with food. I am not one of those people who eats and eats. Or who eats really bad food. I have always (somewhat) paid attention to what I am eating and have always tried to maintain portion control.

In the last six or so months I have started to pay really close attention to what is going into my body. Trying to make choices that are even healthier and since I have been home this last month I have taken it up even another notch. I have not been working so I have had a lot of time on my hands to prepare lengthily meals and plan out my food. I am hoping (and am going to try really hard!) to maintain this once my life gets busier!

One thing I have recently learned, from two of my favorite bloggers, Maria @ Chasing the Now and Andie @ Can You Stay for Dinner? is that preparing food (one day a week) can be extremely helpful in ensuring that you have time to eat right. So, I decided to give it a try! And thus far, it has been quite a success!

The first time I tried, I made a little too much so I was able to freeze some of the items. Here is what I am trying to keep stocked in the fridge:

- A small Tupperware of hummus.
- A small Tupperware of tzatziki.
- A Tupperware or two of grated cheeses.
- Minced and sauteed veggies (this has been my favorite thing! great for scrambled eggs, salads, sandwiches and wraps).
- A loaf of home-made whole wheat or flax seed bread.
-A large container filled with chopped up veggies.
- A few small containers of cut up fruit (that I re-fill as I use through-out the week).
- 6-8 hard-boiled eggs.
-Either small whole wheat muffins or home-made granola bars.

[minced veggies, a new favorite]

It sounds like quite a bit but it didn’t take very long to prep and I am so very happy to have these things ready for quick snacks or meals on the go. Having healthy food ready is making it so much easier to grab something healthy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s Start Talking About Food

  1. Pingback: Weekend Baking: The Return of the Favorites |

Leave a Reply

