"Romeo Save Me…"

Today I visited Verona! Verona is one of the places I most wanted to see in Italy…mainly because after reading Romeo and Juliet, and seeing “Letters to Juliet” this past Spring, I really wanted to see Juliet’s balcony and the famous wall where people leave letters and notes for their loved ones. So, this morning, I took Sydney for an adventure to Verona. We caught the train (a 1/2 ride) and headed into town. After arriving at the train station we had to buy a map because we had no clue where we were going (part of the adventure I say)!  We found our way though and ended up in downtown Verona (only a 15 minute walk from the train station). Despite that it was early in the day, it was SO hot out! We were boiling the entire time.

Here is downtown Verona:

Our first stop was Coliseum in Verona, still home to many concerts today.

Next, we had lunch! For some reason, pop is super expensive over here. This was my 5 euro Coke!

After lunch, we walked to Juliet’s wall which was actually much neater than I expected it to be. In the movie, it looks amazing, but pictures on the internet do not do it justice!

I even wrote, Wide Open Spaces 2010 on our train ticket from the morning and stuck it on the wall (yes, I sort of had to touch someone else’s gum to put it on because I forgot to bring something!).

Here is Juliet’s balcony (Casa di Giulietta). Apparently, it may not be the place the Capulet’s really lived, but it was still neat to see!

Finally, this is me and the statue of Juliet, rubbing her chest for good luck! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to "Romeo Save Me…"

  1. ashley says:

    hey lady!! the pics look so beautiful!…especially the coliseum…and juliets balcony looks small?!

    glad you’re having a good time
    xoxo

  2. jwong says:

    Did you hand sanitize after touching the gum? Unscented, of course 🙂

  3. Danielle says:

    Your photos are absolutely beautiful. I’ve traveled through much of Italy but now you’re making me wish I had seen Verona. Thanks for sharing your adventures!

    Happy travels.

Leave a Reply

