"I'm not gonna let it get me down…"

Yesterday was the most eventful day of my travels thus far. I day I had not planned for. I day I never wanted. But, it came anyways.

I was having a lovely Sunday. Slept in, rode the famous ferris wheel in Vienna, soaked up the sun in the park, reading my book, then went for lunch. A great, relaxing day.

Then, I came home, and now having traveled for over five weeks, and having been in Vienna for almost a week, I let my gaurd down.

I went up to my dorm room, took my computer out of my locker through my bag (with my camera, ipod, etc. in it) under my pillow. “I’m only going downstairs for a bit, it will be fine” I thought to myself. I didn’t even glance at the windows we had left open all week. Afterall, it was stinking hot outside.

I went downstairs, turned on my computer. Downloaded episodes of True Blood (my new favorite show), answered emails, checked Facebook. I was going to go upstairs, but my battery wasn’t charged yet, so I waited and waited until it read 100%.

As soon as I entered the room, I knew something was wrong. My bedding was all messed up, the makeup bag I left on the bed was open. My dorm-mates bag was open (and it was always closed). I checked my bag, and yes, indeed my camera and ipod were gone.

I have never had anything stolen and in that one moment, when I left my bag under my pillow, I let my guard down and something happened.

The hostel staff were super nice and I had to go to the police station to fill out a report (not exactly what I wanted to do on my Sunday night).

I was safe. That was what was important. I told myself as I went back to my room that I would forget about it and it would just go away. No big deal.

BUT, it is a big deal. Not losing the stuff really. An ipod and my camera can be replaced. But, the invasion of my personal space, the fact that somebody had touched all of my belongings, I just couldn’t get it out of my mind. I laid awake until dawn, unable to sleep. I finally dozed off once I could see everything and felt (somewhat) safe.

I woke up with the realization that this could get me down, and for a little while, that is okay. It was okay to cry and be upset. But, I also have to move on. So, I grabbed my SLR (which was, thankfully, locked up!) and headed into Vienna and re-took almost all of the pictures I had lost.

I believe in fate, and when something like this happens, it really reinforces that belief. There was a reason I stayed downstairs for an hour instead of ten minutes. I can’t help but think how lucky I am that I came into the room after the burglar had left. It would have been a million times worse if I had entered when they were there.

I came back this afternoon to the hostel and have moved rooms and already feel a million times better. I still feel shaky and sick to my stomach but I know that will go away, it will just take a bit of time.

Onwards for more adventures! Off to Grunau Im Almtal tomorrow for a few days of hiking, swimming in the river and enjoying nature!

PS Sorry for the long post, but I needed to vent! And, after writing this, I actually feel a bit better 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to "I'm not gonna let it get me down…"

  1. Kathy Palmer says:

    I’m so sorry you had to experience this Alley. Yes, it could have been much worse if you walked in on this taking place. I also do believe that things happen for a reason be it good or bad. I’m just glad that you are safe and hope that the rest of your trip will be eventful in a good way. Proud of you Allie. Take care.
    Kathy

  2. Morgan says:

    What a great perspective you have Allie! What a crappy day to say the least. 😦

  3. Pingback: Trip Interrupted | A Search For Wide Open Spaces

Leave a Reply

