Eat, Pray, Love.

I believe in fate. I have said it here and I will say it time and time again. There are reasons, big and small, that things happen in this world. There are a few things that have happened this week that I consider fate (not life changing but big enough to have an impact on me :)).

Last Summer when I was thinking about going traveling, I was told to read Elizabeth Gilbert’s memoir of Eat, Pray, Love. Like millions of people world-wide I was captivated by her one year journey abroad that lead her to see herself and her hopes, dreams and future so much more clearly. After reading her memoir, I was incredibly inspired to travel. I just knew I had to do it.

So, this week, while I was browsing a listing of upcoming shows, concerts, etc. I found out that Elizabeth Gilbert was coming to London. Without any hesitation I snatched up one of the remaining tickets. For me, it was absolutely, without a doubt, fate that she was in London when I was. Really, what are the chances?

On Wednesday night, I went to Cadogon Hall and saw Elizabeth Gilbert speak. It was one of the most interesting and emotional experiences of my life. It was so incredible to hear her speak and share her insights on traveling, on change and on her life now. For me, it was even more special because it came at the end of the first chapter of my adventure. Tomorrow (Friday), I leave London and start my second chapter in Dublin, where I will (hopefully!) find a job, a place to live, and actually immerse myself within a culture.

At the end of the talk, Elizabeth Gilbert did a quick book signing so I picked up a new copy of Eat, Pray, Love (my original is at home). I can’t wait to start reading it and see how I react to the book now that I am actually living the life I was only dreaming of last time I read it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

