An Amazing 48 Hours!

To say the last 48 hours have been amazing is an understatement. Everything is falling into place!

Yesterday I went to look for a room to rent. I have always lived at home so the whole renting a room is a bit of a challenge for me. Things I was looking for:

– Nice roommates near my own age.
– A room that had a window!
–  Internet (oh what would I do without internet!).
– Good(ish) location or close to the tram.

The first place I went to was super cute. The room was a bit smaller than I wanted but my potential roommates seemed really nice, the location (right next to the Tram) was ideal and the rent was low. Knowing that I shouldn’t jump in too quickly (though I was very tempted to say yes on the spot), I went to look at another place. This one was nice too – the room bigger – but the potential roommate was a bit older and it was in a slightly sketchish neighbourhood. After confirming that my gut was right, I texted the first place AND GOT IT!! As of 6pm last (Tuesday) night I had a room to rent! I move in tomorrow (Thursday) night and could not be happier. I can’t wait to make my little room my own and put my suitcases under my bed! I am so excited 🙂

Last night I went to a social hosted by USIT (the program that runs the SWAP program I am participating in) and met a bunch of really nice (mostly) Canadians. It was great to meet people who are in the same boat I am – moving to a new city all alone and needing to make friends ASAP to make the time fun! I can definitely see the potential of making long-lasting friendship here!

Today I started the second main challenge of my first week in Dublin – finding a job. I had an interview with a temping agency and it went fantastic. With all of my office work she said I should be getting work next week (so fingers crossed everybody!). Ideally I want a fun job in a pub or coffee shop but to tide me over until I get one a temping job will be perfect (plus, they pay well).

SO to say that last two days have been amazing is dead on. More than ever I feel like I am in the right place. I can’t believe how quickly Dublin is feeling like home 🙂

Tomorrow = the start of challenge number three – immigration and all the “fun” paperwork I have to do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Amazing 48 Hours!

  1. Sandy Vogt says:

    It’s great to hear everything is coming together!! You’ll have no problem getting a job with all your skills & of course, the great looking hair.

  2. Morgan says:

    HEY! I have been behind on your posts lately so I just read the last few. Facebook and our emails fill me in a bit, but I forgot how nice it is to really read what you’re up to. 🙂 I can’t wait to hear about your first work experience!

    Missing you lots and lots.
    M

Leave a Reply

