The Dublin Difference: A New Blog Series!

The past few weeks, as I am becoming increasingly submerged into life as a Dubliner, I have started noticing the many differences between Dublin and Vancouver. Differences in the city, in the way things work, in my life here…in everything! So, as an effort to blog more, I am starting a new series that will appear every Friday: The Dublin Difference. I will highlight aspects of my life in Dublin (good and bad) and compare them to home.

First up…THE LANGUAGE.

I am living in Dublin, an English speaking city but there are so many differences in the language! First of, there is the accent, which, once you get to know someone is not a big deal. For the most part, I don’t even notice the difference but if I meet (or talk on the phone to) a person who is from Cork or Galway, or small town, their accents can be really tricky! Like…to the point where I really can’t understand them!

The other difference is, is that Ireland has it’s own, unique language (which I did not know about before I arrived). Irish Gaelic is the second official language in Ireland and let me tell you…I have no idea what any of it means. The pronunciation is completely (I mean COMPLETELY) different than English (or French). For example:

  • I am from Canada = Tá mé ó Cheanada.
  • How was your day? = Conas a bhí do lá?
  • It is so cold out! = Tá sé sin amach fuar!

You get the idea…it is very different and, anything that has to do with the government is in both languages (i.e. the tram I take everyday announces each stop in both English and Irish Gaelic). Just as we, Canadians, learn French in Elementary School, kids here learn Irish. Though the language is not spoken all over the country as an everyday language, there are certain pockets (especially small towns) that use it as their primary language.

So, just like Canada, Ireland has two official languages but theirs is uniquely theirs! Neato 🙂

The other difference is the SLANG. My housemates love teasing me about the words I say…I say ”super” a lot whereas they have expressions like ”that’s grand” which means ”that’s fine” (this is my favorite new expression!). They also say ”craic” a lot but it means fun (aka it was good craic). People also say ”cheers” all the time and ”thanks a mill”. I do quite love all the funny expressions but it does (sometimes) make it a challenge to understand the meanings!

So…there we have it. The first, Dublin Difference! Look out for another one next Friday 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

