The Dublin Difference: Transportation

It’s Friday again which means time for another Dublin Difference πŸ™‚ This week…Transportation! At home, I had a car. My beautiful Mazda that I loved loved loved having. Before I had that car I relied on my parents cars or public transportaiton. It has been a few years since I have really relied on public transportation but that is what I do here in Dublin! My sole means of getting around is public transportation. For the most part, it is great. But, there are a few weak spots in the Dublin transport system that sometimes make getting to work hard!

The main form of public transport I use is the Dublin Luas. The Luas was built in 2004 and serves is a great way for everyone in the suburbs to get into city center. For me, it takes about twenty minutes and the trams come very regularly (every 5 minutes during peak hours). I find it a tad expensive (4 euros for a return ticket) but it is fast, safe and reliable.

The Luas, smack dab in the center of downtown:

The other form of public transportation I use is the Dublin Bus. Now me and the Dublin bus have a love-hate relationship. The buses have great schedules but their are rarely, I mean NEVER, on-time. They are either early or late and it thereby affects whether you get to work on time. The other major difficulty which buses in Dublin is that there are not enough of them during peak hours, I have waited 1/2 hour before, watching buses just go by me because they were full! The buses can also be quite confusing as the stops are in no way announced so if you have never been to a place, you pretty much have to guess when you should get off. The good thing about the buses is that people are usually really friendly and the bus drivers will call out stops for you πŸ™‚

I do quite heart that the Dublin buses are yellow AND are double decker!

Though I certainly have encountered challenges getting around on Public Transportation in Dublin, I love that it is (for the most part) quite relaxing. I can read or listen to music. I don’t have to worry about traffic or, well, anything really! The stress of getting to and from places is definitely diminished! Taking public transport does make me think a lot about where I am going and if I really need to go there (i.e. I am not going to go into town for just one thing). And, because I have to do everything on public transport, I have to get groceries (usually) more than once a week because there is only so much a girl can carry! All, in all, taking public transport definitely has its benefits and I am enjoying the fact that I get to read a ton a solid 40 minutes + every day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dublin Difference: Transportation

  1. Danielle says:

    It might be weird… but I think you can really learn a lot about a city from it’s public transportation. How crazy/relaxed it can be, how friendly/stuck up the people are, etc. and you get to look at all the pretty scenery while someone else does the driving!

    • Allie says:

      I completely agree Danielle! The Dublin transport system is a lot like the Ireland itself, a bit laid back and not too concerned about schedules and timing! And, the people on it are nice, just like all of Dubliners I have met! If you think of New York or London…it is much more about the speed, everyone is in a hurry to get somewhere, much different than here πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

