happy valentines day! [a day late]

Yesterday was Valentines Day. And, here in Dublin it was lovely. It was a beautiful day out, I didn’t have work (which seems to be the norm right now) but I enjoyed the day off. I woke up late, watched Gilmore Girls on tv, and then headed into town to go to the gym. I have been re-reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s “Eat, Pray, Love” just because I wanted to. On the way to the gym, normally I listen to my iPod and drown out the noise around me, but yesterday, I was reading instead and there was something so nice about hearing voices around me, something so comforting about all the people out. It’s hard to describe and maybe I am making no sense, but it was nice.

I came home in the afternoon and decided to try to mediate. Why you ask? Well, reading Eat, Pray, Love makes me want to! Anyone that knows me well knows that I cannot sit still. I need to being doing ten things at once. I can’t watch television without a computer on my lap, or without needing to do my nails, or flipping through a magazine. So the idea of mediating is completely foreign. In Eat, Pray, Love Elizabeth travels to Bali where she studies with a Medicine Man who teaches her a different form of meditation, once that appeals to me. He says:  To mediate, only you must smile. Smile with face, smile with mind, and good energy will comet o you and clean away dirty energy. Even smile in your liver. So I came home, and I sat on my yoga made and tried to be very still while smiling. It was hard. And I only lasted three minutes! But it felt good and I think there may be something to this smiling meditation so I am going to keep trying it and see how it goes.

I spent the rest of the day hanging out with my housemates and a few of their friends who dropped by after college. It was completely random but also nice to just hang out, gossip, drink wine and listen to music. A perfect Valentines Day in Dublin!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

