Not Falling for The Eternal City

I am finding more and more that when I visited cities I have no expectations of, I enjoy them better because I am never disappointed and, more often than not, I end up loving those cities.

I had a lot of expectations for Rome. Maybe that’s where I went wrong.

Ashley and I traveled from Siena to Rome by bus and our experience in the city started off on the wrong foot. The bus driver was rude and laughed at us when we tried to ask for directions, we arrived at night and the whole metro area seemed sketchy and, to top it off, we stayed in a camping village which turned out to be fine but had Ashley scared for awhile when I told her we were sleeping in a tent!

We ended up getting this little trailer to ourselves which turned out to be great!

We had three full days in Rome so we were lucky enough to take in all the sites we wanted to see. We embarked on three free walking tours while we were in Rome. Both Ashley and I love walking tours and they are a great way to see the city.

We ate lunch on the Spanish steps:

There were luxury stores everywhere!

The Pantheon was really neat.

The Roman Forum was so beautiful.

I loved the Trevi Fountaion and was so excited to throw a coin in but they just renovated the foundation and it is now against the law to toss coins in!

The Coliseum was very impressive. Unfortunately I didn’t get to go in because I tried to get my broken suitcase fixed and ran out of time. Something for next time 🙂

The Angel Bridge we crossed to reach Vatican City.

We spent an entire afternoon visiting the Vatican and lucked out big time because we got to see the Pope! So exciting!

The Vatican Museum was impressive! I had no idea the Vatican housed so much art.

The Sistene Chapel was gorgeous but different than I expected. I imagined it to be much larger and more ornate.

I wouldn’t say that I was disappointed in Rome, it was just less exciting than I thought it would be. I am a city girl at heart, I love the hustle and bustle of big cities but Rome just didn’t do it for me. The history and the sights were incredible (I can’t imagine what it would be like to live here and have these beautiful buildings around you all the time!) but I just didn’t feel a connection to the city. Maybe I will fall in love with Greece (which comes next)!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not Falling for The Eternal City

  1. Danielle says:

    I’m going to be in Rome for a day at the end of April and I was planning on visiting the Trevi fountain to toss in a few coins…. now I’m not sure what I’ll do! That is so strange that they made such a famous tradition illegal

Leave a Reply

