50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind: My Answers

As I was coming up with my 101 things to do in 1001 days, I stumbled across a questionnaire that seemed to be a popular item on many peoples’ 101 lists and as soon as I read it I decided I had to do it. Though this is not officially one of my 101’s, I am glad I did it…I am not exactly sure what to make of the questions or if any good has come from me answering them or if my mind is now free but I think the point of the questions is to reflect on your life (or, at least that is what I am taking away from it)! The questions were challenging and they made me think though I found my answers to be vague and optimistic, I found it difficult to be specific. Anywho, hopefully they will encourage me to reflect over my answers and how they will change over the next few years. Here are my answers:

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?
21, on the brink of everything, with the whole world in front of you but with enough knowledge to hold you steady.

Which is worse, failing or never trying?
Without a doubt, never trying. Failing sucks big time but you always learn from your mistakes and, with the support of others, you can always pick yourself up again.

If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?
Because we feel obligated. Oh how I wish I only got to do things I only liked.

When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?
I hope not but it’s easy to think I will have said more than I have done. People are all talk and it takes a lot to actually accomplish things.

What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?
I would like to rid it of illness because if we were all healthy the world would be such a better place and fears (of what if) would be so diminished.

If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?
Planning events for kids and planning weddings. Kids bring so much joy to the world and I think planning events for them would be amazing. Weddings to because there is nothing like the joy that people experience on the day of a wedding.

Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing?
I am constantly trying to work towards doing what I believe in but for the most part I am probably settling for what I am doing. It is SO HARD to try and follow your beliefs 100% of the time.

If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently?
Oh my gosh, that would make me more than middle age. I think I would try to seize more moments. I think I would have rushed up the personal side of my life (marriage + babies) and concentrated less on the career aspect of my life. I would have traveled more too.

To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken?
More and more each day I am controlling the course my life is taking but I still have to work on it. It is hard because there are so many outside forces that try to tell you how to live your life which makes it so difficult to hear your sole voice.

Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?
Doing the right things, always worried about my moral compass and if it is in the right place.

You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire.  They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend.  The criticism is distasteful and unjustified.  What do you do?
Listen and see what they say and then and then decide. Is there a point to speaking up? Yes, it is good to defend your friend but will it bring about good? Is this the correct situation for it? Then decide.

If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?
Believe in yourself no matter what. Oh, and trust your gut because your instincts are right 99% of the time.

Would you break the law to save a loved one?
Absolutely, without a doubt.

Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?
No, but I believe it exists. We are too quick to judge people. Everybody has something to offer the world.

What’s something you know you do differently than most people?
I think that sometimes I process things differently and see lists and lists and have plan upon plan before anything has even happened.

How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy?
Because we are all individuals and we are all unique (which makes the world a great place). How boring would it be if the same things made all of us happy!

What one thing have you not done that you really want to do?  What’s holding you back?
Another hard question because there are a million different things I want to do and you know, I think people/peers hold us back but at the end of the day, we hold ourselves back because of fear. Fear holds us back from almost everything we want to do.

Are you holding onto something you need to let go of?
YUP! I lot of things. But, it’s hard to let go.

If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why?
Hands down, New York. I have always wanted to live there and guess that always will (to a certain extent). I love the idea of being one in a million. Of getting lost in a sea of people. I love all the unique neighborhoods. Oh, I love everything about it.

Do you push the elevator button more than once?  Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster?
Not normally, and of course it doesn’t! (But most of us like to believe it does!)

Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton?
A worried genius BUT I think there would be so many benefits of being a joyful simpleton. Wouldn’t it be nice for life to be less complex? For us to enjoy the simple things? I think so.

Why are you, you?
Because of all the people who were around me growing up. It is the people and the culture you grow up in that shapes you.

Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend?
Yes. I believe the kind of friend you are is really representative of the person you are so I always try to be a good friend.

Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you?
When you lose touch. You can always visit the other friend! It would be horrible to see a good friend move away but the friendship is still there. It is so sad when I friendship just fades when people live so close to one another.

What are you most grateful for?
My friends, my family, my health and my independence.

Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones?
Never be able to make new ones. I don’t know why really but I just would not want to lose all of my old memories, I don’t think I would know why I was me.

Is it possible to know the truth without challenging it first?
No, at least not in my opinion. It is rare that thinks are black and white (and when they are they can still be challenged). To really believe something, to know the truth you have to examine all aspects of it.

Has your greatest fear ever come true?
Yes.

Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset?  Does it really matter now?
Nope but that’s the beauty of life. There are not many things that make you extremely upset that matter years later. There are things, for sure, that will stick with you forever, but as you grow and change, many of the littler things that used to upset you no longer matter.

What is your happiest childhood memory?  What makes it so special?
The people involved in my happy memories are what matters. It isn’t really the things we do that are special but the people we do them with.

At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?
Yesterday, today, tomorrow. Traveling makes me feel alive!

If not now, then when?
Tomorrow. But there may not be a tomorrow so I need to work on doing things now rather than waiting.

If you haven’t achieved it yet, what do you have to lose?
Nothing and everything at the same time.

Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever?
Nope, but I know the feeling.

Why do religions that support love cause so many wars?
Because people take things to the extreme and can’t accept that people are all different and that different beliefs are okay. Things we don’t understand are the hardest so when people don’t understand each others religions wars begin.

Is it possible to know, without a doubt, what is good and what is evil?
I wish. I don’t think it is possible because there is so much disguise in the world and because what is good or evil to one person is not necessarily the same to another.

If you just won a million dollars, would you quit your job?
It depends what job I had! Right now, at this moment, yes I would but if I were doing something I loved probably not.

Would you rather have less work to do, or more work you actually enjoy doing?
More work I actually enjoy doing.

Do you feel like you’ve lived this day a hundred times before?
Today, while I am writing this, I am at work so I would say yes for sure.

When was the last time you marched into the dark with only the soft glow of an idea you strongly believed in?
Yesterday, today, everyday right now. Living my dream and planning my dreams for the future.

If you knew that everyone you know was going to die tomorrow, who would you visit today?
Hardest question yet. Everyone. How do you narrow that down? I would want to put all the people I love in one room.

Would you be willing to reduce your life expectancy by 10 years to become extremely attractive or famous?
A thinker that question is. But no, I wouldn’t.

What is the difference between being alive and truly living?
We are alive but I think we are truly living when we are doing things we are passionate about, when we are happy and when we are loved and we love others.

When is it time to stop calculating risk and rewards, and just go ahead and do what you know is right?
Yesterday! Everything is risky but the rewards usually outway the potential risk. You just have to take that leap of faith!

If we learn from our mistakes, why are we always so afraid to make a mistake?
Because they are hard, they hurt, they make us (or other) feel bad. They suck big time. BUT it is true, we learn from them.

What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?
EVERYTHING. Seriously. What wouldn’t I do different if nobody judge anybody else?

When was the last time you noticed the sound of your own breathing?
Yesterday, when I went on a jog or last night when I was laying awake thinking.

What do you love?  Have any of your recent actions openly expressed this love?
Travel = yes. Literature = yes. Friends = yes. I think I usually do a good job of expressing myself.

In 5 years from now, will you remember what you did yesterday?  What about the day before that?  Or the day before that?
I certainly hope so! Mostly because I am doing something so different than what I would regularly be doing.

Decisions are being made right now.  The question is:  Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?
I am trying to make them for myself and am mostly succeeding! It is hard though, a daily battle to be in control of your own decisions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

