10 Months: It Feels Like Home

When you live somewhere your entire life you take little things for granted. You know where all the grocery stores are, you know where the movie rental place is, you know where the good coffee shops are. You know which electronic stores are better, you know which tailor does a good job hemming your pants, and which dry cleaner offers overnight services. You just know things about the city you live in.

When I first came to Dublin, I didn’t know any of those things. No a single one. And, I was lost.

As my time here in Dublin is coming to a close, I am beginning to realize how much I do know now. I know where to get groceries. I know where to get my pants hemmed. I know which cafes are the cutest. I know stuff!

And now, because I know all of these things, Dublin feels like home. It isn’t home, I know that. Home is where I grew up, I don’t think that will ever change but Dublin has been my home for the past eight months and that is something to me; something special.

Today marks 10 months since I left home and this past month what has really struck me is how fast time has gone by. It feels like it should still be Fall. How is it already the middle of May?

I have two months left in Europe, most of which will be spent traveling. I am excited for it, but I will miss Dublin because Dublin represents so much of the person I have become. I have really grown-up here. I have really started to become the person I want to be. I chose what career I wanted while I was in Dublin.  This city didn’t give me everything I wanted but it some ways it gave me more. Dublin gave me time to breathe, to really reflect on my life and help me decide what I want out of the next eighty years or so (yes – I plan on living until I am a 100!).

I am planning on soaking up as much of Dublin as I possibly can in the next ten days. I am going to be a tourist. I am going to see the Queen (who is making a history visit this week). I am going to see President Obama (who is visiting the week after the Queen!). And, I am going to read the Metro Herald a few more times just so I can remember what it has been like to call Dublin home.

I am glad that, even if it was just for a short while, I have found a place that feels like home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 10 Months: It Feels Like Home

  1. Caitlin Gormley says:

    Yay, Allie! I love reading your blog. I’m sad we didn’t get to see you before we left for Canada. Have soo much fun your last days in Dublin, and of course, on all your crazy travels! I look forward to reading about your adventures and seeing some great photos! Enjoy!

  2. Heather says:

    This one is my favourite 🙂

Leave a Reply

