Proud To Be A Vancouverite?

Not at this moment.

I did not watch the game last night (I tried, I swear! I was just too exhausted after a day out…the game did not start until 1AM here). I woke up when my brother came in the room at 4AM, the Canucks had lost. Then, this morning I woke up to find out that Vancouver had been taken over by riots and to be honest, I am disgusted.

Traveling abroad for the last (almost) year, I have become the first to wave the Canadian flag, to say I am from Vancouver. I am a proud Vancouverite. I love Vancouver. I love the Canucks, I love the ocean, I love the people. I love it. It’s home.

But when things happen like the riots last night, it just makes me angry. The Canucks lost, it sucks, it would have been wonderful for them to have won. But guess what? It’s not the end of the world. Life goes on. It really does.

I spent over 1/2 hour looking at photos this morning and it just makes me sick to see how some people can act. In my opinion, true fans would not do that. Those people are just out there causing madness because they can, not because they are upset about the game. If you were one of the people on that Facebook page would you feel proud today? I highly doubt it.

I wondered what would happen if the Canucks had lost the game, after all the riots in 1994 were bad (I was only seven at the time but even I remember it) but almost twenty years later, people have clearly not changed. There was no point to the riots last night. Nothing good came of it. Vancouverites now just look dumb. We look like sore losers who destroyed our city, a city we should be proud of. Afterall, the Canucks made it far, they gave it an effort and, at the end of the day, it is just a game. Period.

There’s my rant, for now anyways.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Proud To Be A Vancouverite?

  1. Danielle says:

    You can be proud of your city once again. Almost as soon as the riots started a Facebook group was created to clean up the city the next day. Tons of volunteers turned out and scrubbed down every square inch of the city that was damaged. A society (the name escapes me) has donated the funds to revive or replant any damanged trees in the downtown core. The Bay even hosted a free pancake breakfast downtown on Saturday to thank all of the clean-up volunteers. It’s such a shame that the riot happened, but it was amazing to see the outpouring of support for the city in the days following the riot.

    • allie says:

      You are right, I can be proud again! It’s funny because just as soon as I posted that post, the clean-up was happening. I am glad our city is getting all cleaned up 🙂 It’s funny how a few people can do so much damage 😦 but also AMAZING to hear that there are so many good people willing to pitch in and make Vancouver beautiful again!

Leave a Reply

