My {New} Favorite Casserole

I have never been much of a casserole girl but one night recently I had some ground turkey that I was unsure what to do with. I usually make turkey burgers out of it but I just wasn’t in a turkey burger kind of mood (is there a mood for turkey burkers? hmm…not sure but I wasn’t in one! haha). So, I decided to Google “What to make with ground turkey”. After scowering several recipes I found one that fit the bill – a Turkey Eggplant Cassrole. The first time I made the casserole I improvised a bit because I didn’t have all the necessary ingredients and now, every time, I improvise a bit more. This casserole works great because you can really throw in any kind of veggie you want and it will taste really yummy (I promise)!

 

Turkey Eggplant Casserole
Makes 6-8 servings (doubles very well!).

  • 1 1/4 pounds ground skinless turkey breast
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 2-5 garlic cloves, minced (depending on how much garlic you like!)
  • 1/2 a large eggplant, peeled and cubed
  • 1 14-ounce can crushed tomatoes (canned diced tomatoes work as well)
  • 2 peppers (your choice!), seeded and diced 
  • 1 cup diced mushrooms
  • 3/4 cup dried bread crumbs
  • 2-3 teaspoons of your favorite seasoning (I love dried basil, oreganon, thyme…put in whatever you like!)
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated Mozerella cheese 
  • Other veggies work too! You can really add whatever is in your fridge (this is a great recipe to use if you need to clean out your fridge!). I have tried asparagus and it tasted great!

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a 13″x9″ baking pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Put a tablespoon of olive oil in a large nonstick saucepan and heat. Add the turkey, onion and garlic; cook, stirring as needed, until the turkey is browned and the onion is softened, 6-7 minutes.

Add the eggplant, tomatoes, peppers, mushrooms, bread crumbs and seasoning and bring to a boil, stirring as needed.

Transfer the turkey mixture to pan and bake, covered until the veggies are tender, 45 minutes; uncover and sprinkle with the two cheeses. Bake uncovered until the cheese is slightly browned, about 15 minutes longer. Let stand a few minutes before serving.

This cassrole freezes great! I put some in individual containers and now whip them out of the freezer and right into my lunch bag. Seriously, one of my new favorite dishes – I could eat it every week!

 Enjoy!

Recipe inspired by About.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My {New} Favorite Casserole

  1. Jen says:

    So I’m a nut and I’ve been looking up nutritional values of stuff lately. I use canned tomatoes a lot, especially in the winter or for speed sake after work. Crushed seem to be way better for you than diced, a lot less sodium added. This recipe sounds tasty!

    • allie says:

      I didn’t know that! I will have to make sure I use crushed tomatoes when I make this recipe tonight (haha)! You should definitely try it, in three weeks, I have made it three times! I am crazy about it 🙂

  2. Pingback: I’m Making My List and Checking It Twice |

Leave a Reply

