{Gluten Free} Veggie Burgers

My weekend was great! It was super busy and I accomplished a lot but I also had time to workout, hang out with friends, amongst other things. Yay!

I finally got around to making the veggie burgers I wanted to make last week.

I have only had veggie burgers twice but am thinking they might become a staple in my diet. In my quest to become gluten free and red meat free, veggie burgers might just be a great alternative to turkey/chicken burgers. I found two recipes that I liked and decided to (somewhat) combine them (see one here and the other here) and make my own. The result? Some yummy, veggie filled burgers. The only problem is they did not stick together well. What do you use to make them stick together if you are Gluten Free? Bread crumbs won’t work (unless…I guess you use Gluten Free ones?). Let me know if you have any suggestions!

As they did not stick together super well, I made mini burgers and ate them with a side of asparagus and some homemade chipotle mayonnaise. A delicious dinner 🙂

Veggie Burgers
Yield: 10 mini burgers

3/4 cup chopped red onion
3/4 cup grated carrots
1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
1 egg
A dash of salt and pepper
½ tsp. mustard
1 tsp. Tabasco sauce
2 tsp. spices (I used basil, garlic powder and chili flakes)
2 cups cooked lentils
2 tbsp. cooked veggies (optional) – I used the veggies I pre-cook every week

Place the chopped onion and grated carrot in a small frying pan and sauté until tender (about ten minutes). Remove from pan and drain off any excess water.

Meanwhile, place half the lentils in a medium sized bowl, using an immersion blender, mash the lentils until smooth.

Combine all ingredients into a bowl and mix until combined. 

Form into patties and fry in a lightly oiled frying pan until browned on both sides and heated through, about ten minutes.

Note: If you are not making a Gluten Free version, add 1/2 cup breadcrumbs and the burgers should be splendid! !

Happy Monday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to {Gluten Free} Veggie Burgers

  1. Pingback: 2.5 Hour Gourmet Cooking Masterclass | 4 Real Cheap

  2. Pingback: Organic Food Club Membership + $100 Off SuperFoods | 4 Real Cheap

  3. Pingback: Burger Meal – Burger, Small Chips and Drink | 4 Real Cheap

  4. Pingback: Veggie Burgers Everywhere « The Epigenetics Project Blog

  5. Pingback: Gardner Burgers « GardnerTessted

Leave a Reply

