Soft Chewy Granola Bars

I have always had a love/hate relationship with granola bars. I love them because they can be quite filling, they are easy to pack up and take to school, work, etc. but they can be quite hard and crunchy which I do not like. A few weeks ago I decided to try and make some home-made granola bars with one thing in mind: I wanted them to be soft, chewy and healthy! I used this recipe and they are absolutely fantastic.

 Soft Chewy Granola Bars
2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup wheat germ
1/4 cup flax seeds
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup raisins
3/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 cup honey
1 egg, beaten
1/2 cup olive oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease 9 x 13 baking pan.

2. In large bowl, mix together the oats, brown sugar, wheat germ, flax, cinnamon, flour, raisins and salt. Make a well in the centre, pour in the honey, egg, oil and vanilla. Mix well. Pat the mixture evenly into the pan.

3. Bake for about 25 minutes but watch the baking time! If you want them to be soft and chewy they will need to make for 20 – 25 minutes. Much longer than that they will become harder. Cool for 10 minutes then cut into squares. Do not allow the bars to cool completely before cutting or they will be too hard to cut.

Now, these bars are not 100% Gluten Free. I am working on that! The second time I made them I used 1/2 the amount of Whole Wheat Flour and next time I am going to substitute it for Gluten Free flour and Gluten Free Oats. As well, next time I will reduce the amount of honey/sugar as I find them a little too sweet.

My Suggestion: try them because they are so good but experiment and throw in any additional ingredients (cranberries, nuts, chocolate chips) you like!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Soft Chewy Granola Bars

  1. Pingback: Weekend Baking: The Return of the Favorites |

Leave a Reply

