I’m Obsessed With…Burgers

To say I have been obsessed with burgers lately may be a bit of an understatement…In the past few week’s I have made:

Falafel Burgers
Veggie Burgers
Turkey, Spinach, Feta Burgers

and now…

Spicy Black Bean Burgers!

As per my life lately, I had some black beans kicking around and wondered “What should I cook with these?” Burgers, of course! I found Eat Live Run’s Black Bean Burger Recipe and knew I had to try it. The recipe was quick and easy and made the most yummy burgers! I love that I got my fill of protein without eating meat. I made a few alterations to the recipe based on my dietary restrictions/what I had in my fridge.  See Eat Live Run’s original recipe here (oh how I wish I could have eaten avocado with this! :(). Here is my gluten-free version!

Spicy Black Bean Burgers
Yield: 8 burgers

2.5 cups black beans, drained and rinsed
1 tablespoons ground flax + 3 tablespoons water
2 cloves garlic
2 tablespoons salsa
2 teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup corn (fresh or frozen and defrosted)
Olive oil for frying burgers

In a small bowl, mix together the ground flax and water. Let sit for five minutes.

Meanwhile, add 1.5 cups of black beans and garlic cloves to food processor and combine. Add cumin and salt and pulse until mixture resembles chunky black bean dip.

Transfer the mixture in the food processor to a large bowl and stir in salsa, flax and corn. Stir well until everything is combined and add the remaining black beans.

Heat a little olive oil in a skillet on medium high heat. Form black bean mixture into patties and fry for about 4 minutes per side, until golden and crusty brown.

These burgers turned out great and, paired with my chipotle mayo, they were nice and spicy! These will definitely become a dinner-time staple 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m Obsessed With…Burgers

  1. Jen says:

    Where’s the falafel burger recipe!?! Sounds so good . . . and it’s only 9:43 am!

  2. Pingback: I’m Making My List and Checking It Twice |

  3. Pingback: Ringing in the New Year |

  4. Pingback: Weekend Baking: The Return of the Favorites |

Leave a Reply

