Auntie’s Granola

If you know me, then you know I believe that most things in life are meant to be and that that alone helps me feel that there is good that can come from bad, that things can get better even when they are hard and that destiny is a part of life.

Well, let me tell you, finding auntie’s granola recipe that was fate, hands down. While I was traveling abroad a memory came back to me from childhood: I was eight or so, in my grandfather’s kitchen, helping my auntie make granola. She was on a health food kick and wanted to make home-made granola. I remember the smell of the granola overtaking the kitchen, all the nuts and seeds and the taste of the yummy granola. And, I remember thinking that I felt so special because I got to spend an afternoon baking with my auntie. After remembering that, I wanted to make the granola but I didn’t have the recipe or even know if it existed. I forgot about it somewhat but carried that memory around like it was worth a million dollars.

When I came home last month, there, taped to my family’s kitchen fridge was my auntie’s recipe for granola. Right there! On the fridge! In front of my face! In her handwriting! Like someone knew I wanted it and found it.

That, to me, is pure fate. I was supposed to find this recipe and make it! And make it, I did. It is healthy, filled with nutritious nuts, filling and will make me think of my beautiful auntie every time I eat it. Love!

Auntie’s Cruchy Pepp Granola
Yield 6 cups

3 cups rolled oats
1 cup pumpkin seeds
1 cup unblanched almonds (whole or halved)
6 tablespoons sunflower seeds
6 tablespoons sesame seeds
3 tablespoons raw wheat germ
1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
3 tablespoons sunflower seed oil
3 tablespoons honey

Preheat oven to 225F.

Toss all ingredients in a large bowl and spread thinly on cookie sheet. Bake for 20-25 minutes, stirring once or twice until browned evenly. Watch carefully (so it does not over-bake)!

Remove tray from oven and let cool. Transfer granola to large freezer bag and store in freezer.

This recipe can be made without the wheat germ (to make it gluten free), you can also add in other nuts/seeds based on your preferences. The granola is awesome on yogurt; I love throwing in blueberries or raisins and yogurt and the granola: such a yummy breakfast!

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Auntie’s Granola

  1. Pingback: Weekend Baking: The Return of the Favorites |

Leave a Reply

