10 Years Ago

10 Years Ago today I had just started Grade 9. It was a Tuesday morning and I had gotten up early (6AM) to jog on the treadmill before getting ready for school. As I flipped through the channels on the television the same images kept coming up. I had no idea what was going on. I had never heard of the World Trade Center. Oh how quickly that would change. I ran upstairs to wake my Mom up and within minutes she was glued to the television and on the phone with my dad (who was away on business). We spent the rest of the day huddled in front of the television, in shock of what had happened.

My life was not affected by September 11th, 2001. Not really. I did lose a loved one. I did not see my city crumble. But on that day, my world was changed because after 9/11 the world was different. There was fear, there was a war, there was hate. I had never heared of Afghanistan or Iraq. I didn’t know about the Taliban or extremism. I didn’t know.

Now, ten years later so much has changed. I have visited the 9/11 Memorial Grounds twice, on both my trips to New York (2007 + 2010) and have done the tour, put on my people who were deeply effected by 9/11. I have met two police officers who were there on that day and who were lucky enough to make it out alive. I have felt the weight of the impact that day has had on thousands of lives.

There are certain days where I will always remember where I was, September 11th, 2001 is one of them.

I am not sure our world is a vastly better place than it was ten years ago but what I do know, ten years on, is that there is hope for peace and that today we need to be thankful for everything we have.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

