I’m in Mexico!

I’m in Mexico! It’s hard to believe that just last week I was up to my eye balls in packing and now I have been in Mexico for five days. Last week was a great week filled with spending time with my bestest friends, packing, running errands and, just generally, getting ready for my three months away.

Friday morning I home and headed to the airport to meet up with my group (all nineteen of us traveling!). Our six-hour flight to Mexico City speed by and was really smooth (yay!). We arrived just after 8pm and after collecting all of our bags we headed in vans to our hotel right in the centre of Mexico City. After quickly throwing our bags in our rooms, we headed out for food to the only place open – a Tacoria (taco place) that seemed a bit sketchy at first but ended up being just what we needed – real Mexico food and $2.00 Caronas! We ended up eating there three more times in the next fews days 🙂

After our late night, we slept in (a bit) on Saturday before embarking on a walking tour of the city. I had no idea Mexico City is the biggest city in the WORLD! 25 million people! The city is h-u-g-e.

Exhausted from traveling the day before, some of us had an early night and played cards in our hotel room before heading off to bed to catch up on some much needed sleep! Sunday morning we woke up early-ish and headed out to Teotihuacan, a huge archaeological site containing some of the largest pyramidal structures in Mexico. We spent the day wandering around the enormous site. It was my first pyramid experience and let me tell you – it is amazing! How people built these blows me away!

{me attempting an artistic shot of my friend, Liz, jumping}

We capped Sunday evening off with an amazing group dinner at a superb restaurant. Mexico City was a blast! Today we spent another day traveling, by bus, to Oaxaca where we will all be living for the next two months. We arrived in the evening and met our homestay families!! More details coming tomorrow 🙂 (and hopefully more pictures from Mexico City once I steal them from my friends’ cameras!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

