Life is Beautiful

I was planning on blogging today about my room, about my surroundings, about my first two days in Oaxaca but instead, I am going to blog about what I am feeling, right here, right at this moment.

Tonight we (our group of 16 girls) went out the the main square (Zolcalo) to celebrate Amanda’s 25th Birthday. We ended up in this amazingly neat restaurant, sitting on a terrace with a view of the quite night sky, two gorgeous illuminated churches and the city all around us. It was beautiful. I believe that I have a ton to learn from every person in my program. Just as I was blown away during my first week in PDP, I am still, now a month in, blown away by the amazing lives these girls have led; by how much they have given back to the world; and how much they still have to give. I have so much to learn from them! I sat tonight with two girls who I find so inspiring. I am a talker; everyone who knows me knows that but I am constantly working on trying to be a good listener too. Tonight, it just so happened that I really tried to be the listener instead of the talker. And you know what? I learned so much. Just from listening. We talked a lot about how life is beautiful, life is precious, and how we all come from such different backgrounds and how that influences our perception of the world. I learned more in that one conversation, by listening, then I have in hours of talking I have been doing lately. I am so moved by that realization that I am really going to make a sincere and honest effort to listen more, especially here, because I have so much more to learn from people and listening is how I believe I am going to take it all in.

Life is beautiful. I feel so blessed to be living this life and I am loving every moment of my time in Mexico and in this program. Sometimes I even find myself catching my breath or tearing up because I am realizing just how lucky I am to be where I am.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

