A Childrens’ Art Exhibit

Last weekend, I attended an art exhibit/fundraiser for a program that one of my teacher’s, here in Oaxaca, runs. He works with children in rural communities and focuses on them learning the indigenous language, Zapotec (a language that is being lost as in many of the dialects it is not written and is not being passed down from older generations) and he is also works on having the children express themselves through art. To launch off the month long exhibit a fundraiser was held (for the program) and my group was able to help out and volunteer. I was even lucky enough to bid on a few of the pieces and now have myself three art pieces for my future classroom 🙂 Here are a few pictures from the night:

{a collection of photos from the evening, including some of the art work, pictures of me with my friends and teacher, and a snapshot of the artists themselves!}

The children were oh so proud of their artwork and it was such a beautiful thing to see! I am a lucky girl; I am seeing and experiencing so many wonderful things here in Oaxaca!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

