On Not Taking Criticism Well but Still Believing in Yourself

Here’s the thing: I don’t take criticism well. I know, I know, it’s something I need to work on. Criticism helps us grow, it help us learn, it makes us stronger people. Even though I know this, I don’t deal with it well. I usually cry. And, I am usually told not to cry. I should be a big girl, I need to learn how to take criticism, it’s not personal – all things people have told me. Well, guess what? To me criticism IS personal. No matter what it is about, to me it is personal. If it is about my work, it’s personal because anything that I spend most of my day doing, that I put in sweat into, hard work into and time into, is personal!

This week I was told that I am too shy in the classrooms here in Oaxaca. Now, anyone who knows me at all knows that I am so totally 100% not a girl who is shy. But, here, in an unfamiliar environment, in a place where I don’t speak the language and in a classroom where the students are (from my perspective) not (even the slightest bit) well behaved, I guess I am nervous. And you know what? That’s okay. Because I know that at home I am not shy in the classroom, I know I love it and I am totally confident in what I am doing. I am at home, in my element.

Even though this week has had it’s rough patches I am going to remember to believe in myself, to push my doubts to the side and do the best I can do. I know I want to be a teacher, I know I love it and I know that teaching in Mexico is not what I had expected but that I am going to grow from it anyways and I am going to have fun with it 🙂

Now, I am off to go see Twilight, have drinks on the town and dance the night away!

Happy Friday All!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

