Missing the Holiday Season

Last week I spent the entire week at the beach with my friends and I should have been over the moon happy the whole week but something was bugging me. It was a feeling I couldn’t shake and I couldn’t pinpoint what exactly I was upset about but I was definitely upset about something. Finally when Skyping with one of my closest friends, I realized what was wrong: I am terribly sad about not being home for the holidays.

I love December, I love Winter, I love Christmas. And though I am certain I am going to have a fantastic time with my family in Mexico, I am sad to not be home for this time of year. There are so many things I love about the holidays, including…
– Baking and giving baking to all those I love (especially making these)
– Making hand-made Christmas cards
– Holiday parties and get togethers
– Seeing old friends
– Watching holiday movies
– Holiday decorations
– The smell of apple juice and cinnamon on the stove
– Starbucks holiday drinks (gingerbread latte!)
– Listening to Christmas music
– Playing in the snow
– The buzz of holiday shoppers
– Buying and wrapping presents
– The general excitement and merriment of everyone
– Christmas trees and their amazing scents
– Reading ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas’ with my siblings
– Making DIY presents
– Christmas lights
– Our family’s traditional Ukrainian dinner on Christmas Eve
– Spending time with all the most important people in my life
…the list could go on and on!
{photos from Christmas 2010}

In order to pep my self up I have made two lists.

All the amazing things we are going to do as a family in Puerto Vallarta…
– Watching holiday movies (I’m going to start downloading some right now!)
– Holiday decorations (my mom and I are in the process of buying some fun Mexican holiday decor)
– Starbucks holiday drinks (they have holiday drinks (though different) here!)
– Listening to Christmas music
– The buzz of holiday shoppers
– Buying and wrapping presents (I have to wrap up some little things I bought for my family over the past two months)
– The general excitement and merriment of everyone
– Reading ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas’ with my siblings (my mom brought our copy down to Mexico!)
– Christmas lights
– Spending time with all the most important people in my life
– Creating new and fun traditions with my family

And, all the wonderful things I am going to do when I get home on December 27th…
– Baking (especially making these)
– Making hand-made Christmas cards
– After holiday parties and get togethers (December 27th is still the holidays, after all)
– Seeing old friends
– The smell of apple juice and cinnamon on the stove
– Starbucks holiday drinks (gingerbread latte!)
– Playing in the snow
– The general excitement and merriment of everyone
– Christmas trees and their amazing scents (my friends will have their trees up!)
– Christmas lights (still up two days after Christmas!)
– Spending time with all the most important people in my life

Now when I looked at these lists, I realized something. Christmas and the holidays are going to be different this year, really different. But, almost all of the things I love about the holidays are still there, they will just happen during two different times (before and after Christmas). At the end of the day, spending time with the most important people in my life is the best thing about the holidays and that, that appears on all my lists!

Here’s to hoping I get some holiday cheer really soon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Missing the Holiday Season

  1. Pingback: Christmas Away From Home |

Leave a Reply

