Seeing Myself Through the Eyes of Others

I wanted to wait to read these letters in private. I wanted to wait until I had the time, to appreciate them, to soak them up, to re-read them. So, last Friday night, when I was alone in Puerto Vallarta, with warm rain pouring outside my hotel window, I read them.

When we ended our program just a few weeks ago, we ended it with a celebratory dinner, drinks, speeches and a song. But, we also ended it by giving each other notes, expressing our thanks and our admiration for one and other. I have to say, it is one of the most powerful and eye opening things I have ever done.

It was a wonderful experience for me to write notes to all of my peers, to the girls I had spent the last three months getting to know. It re-affirmed to me just how uniquely amazing they all are and how lucky I have been to get to know them.

And, then, when I read the letters they all wrote for me, I cried {a lot} and re-read them all, a few times. And cried some more.

What was so striking to me, reading those notes, was that my friends told me things about myself that I never even realized. That they noticed things I had never even given a second thought to. It was such a beautiful thing for me to read those notes and they are something I will treasure forever. I was able to see myself through the eyes of others and that was a pretty incredible thing. And, are now something, that whenever I am having a weak moment, whenever I am feeling down, I can turn to those notes and they will brighten up my day and boost my spirits.

I have made so many wonderful friends during these past few months, I can’t help but pinch myself and count my blessings. I am one lucky girl.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

