Delicious Black Bean Brownies

Recently, after making an amazing brownie recipe for my family, I was craving a chocolaty, gluten-free version that I could eat and not feel (completely) guilty about. I stumbled upon Forgiving Maratha‘s Black Bean Brownie recipe and knew I had to try it. Coincidentally, I had a bunch of black beans defrosted from making Black Bean Brownies. Me making these brownies was meant to be 🙂 hehe

I found these brownies to be both delicious and moist. They did not taste like black beans at all and, unlike a normal brownie, these actually worked as a middle of the day snack, that filled me up. Yay for chocolaty goodness and protein!

Black Bean Brownies
Adapted from Forgiving Martha

1 (15 oz.) can of black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 c. sugar
2 large eggs
1/3 cup butter, melted
1/4 cup cocoa
2 tsp. vanilla
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1/3 cup sliced pecans

Drain and rinse black beans.  Add beans and melted butter into the bowl of a food processor and blend until smooth. Add in cocoa, vanilla, eggs and salt and blend until completely pureed.  Stir in chocolate chips and pecans then pour into an 8″x8″ greased pan.  Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.  Cool completely before cutting.

I tried two variations with these brownies. On the first batch I used no nuts and, on the second, I added in sliced pecans into the mixture and put them on top. Both were delicious!

Next time, I may add a little bit more sugar or increase the amount of cocoa just to make sure the taste of the black beans is completely gone. All in all, these are an amazing alternative to regular brownies and will definitely be a mainstay in my kitchen. In fact, I need to go snack on one right now…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

